Hirschman Runs To Third Consecutive RoC Victory At Lake Erie Speedway

Story By: RACE OF CHAMPIONS – NORTH EAST, PA – Matt Hirschman of Northamption, Pa., drove to his 41st career Race of Champions Series victory this past Saturday night at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pa., in the Lake Erie 75 presented by Jim Moss Builders.

Hirschman took the lead from Tommy Catalano early in the event and never looked back in his first win of 2018.

“I always love coming to Lake Erie, this is one of my favorite tracks,” stated Hirschman from victory lane. “Tommy (Catalano) was strong early but we were able to get where we needed to be and use good track position. It played out in our favor tonight. I have to thank everyone involved with our team, it was a really good night for us.”

Hirschman held off a charging Patrick Emerling from Orchard Park, N.Y., and Andy Jankowiak of Tonawanda, N.Y., who started 16th and finished 3rd.

Scott Wylie of Blasdell, N.Y., who started second, his second consecutive front row starting position in this race, earned fourth while Randall Richards who towed from Titusville, Pa., drove from 15th to finish 5th.

Chuck Hossfeld won the overall fast time for the second consecutive race in green, white, checker qualifying.

Hossfeld, Kevin Miller, Tommy Catalano and Hirschman all won qualifying races.

Roy Hayes of Concord, N.C., came to Lake Erie and took home the victory in the season opening Race of Champions Late Model Series event presented by CPS (Center for Plastic Surgery). Hayes held of Jeric Johnson of Mooresville, N.C., to earn the victory.

“This is a big night for us,” explained Hayes, who is originally from the Erie, Pa., area. “It’s great to come back here and put our car in victory lane along with having everyone here. The car was spot on from the start of the race and we were fortunate to have everything go our way.”

Johnson ended up second with Dave Russell of Clarence, N.Y., third. Sam Fullone of North Collins, N.Y., finished fourth with Eldon King of Delevan, N.Y., rounding out the top-five.

Russell and Fullone won the qualifying races.

The results are unofficial until Tuesday, June 12, 2018.

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com

Feature Finish
Lake Erie 75 presented by Jim Moss Builders
Lake Erie Speedway, North East, Pennsylvania
Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish Starting Position No. Name Laps

1 3 60 Matt Hirschman 75
2 4 07 Patrick Emerling
3 16 12x Andy Jankowiak
4 2 88 Scott Wylie
5 15 0 Randall Richards
6 9 22 Chuck Hossfeld
7 23 17 Danny Knoll, Jr.
8 13 10 Daryl Lewis, Jr.
9 11 3 Daren Scherer
10 12 45 Eric Beers
11 8 66 Austin Kochenash
12 10 25 Mike Leaty
13 17 32 Tyler Rypkema
14 14 65 George Skora, III
15 22 59 Karl Hehr
16 21 64 Amy Catalano
17 7 5 Kyle Ebersole
18 24 28 Kreig Heroth
19 6 54 Jack Ely
20 25 1 Chris Risdale
21 1 54 Tommy Catalano Engine
22 5 2 Kevin Miller Accident
23 20 45 Timmy Catalano
24 19 40 Alan Bookmiller
25 – 4 Zack Knowlden Oil Leak

Time of Race: 39 minutes 53.493 seconds
Fast Qualifying Lap: Chuck Hossfeld
Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers (Tommy Catalano / Matt Hirschman)

Paved Track Qualifying Race Winners; Chuck Hossfeld (2); Kevin Miller (1); Tommy Catalano (1); Matt Hirschman (1)
Jerico Performance “Jammin’ Gears Awards”; Danny Knoll, Jr. (Advanced 16 positions in feature)
US Army Top Performer Award; Matt Hirschmam
Jan “Pops” Leaty Award – Leader Lap 25 – Matt Hirschman
$100 Bicknell Racing Products Certificate Award (Third Place) – Andy Jankowiak
MyRacePass “Free Pass” Award – Alan Bookmiller (Only Eligible Driver)

Feature Finish
CPS ‘40’
Lake Erie Speedway, North East, Pa.
Finishing Position, Starting Posiiton, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

1 1 Roy Hayes 40
2 2 Jeric Johnson
3 4 Dave Russell
4 3 Sam Fullone
5 8 Eldon King
6 5 Tommy Catalano
7 7 Bob Weber
8 13 Mike Parks
9 14 Bob Minacapelli
10 6 David Heitzhaus
11 11 Dave Whittaker
12 15 Ron Richter
13 10 Nick Crassi
14 9 Terry Weldy
15 12 Timmy Catalano

Qualifying Race Winners; Dave Russell, Sam Fullone