Matt Hirschman Runs To Victory In Tribute To “Pops” Leaty 75 At Spencer Speedway

Story By: RACE OF CHAMPIONS – WILLIAMSON, NY – Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa, redrew 12th and drove to his third victory of the 2018 season in Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series competition. Hirschman’s last victory came at Chemung Speedrome on August 4th, which was the 43rd of his Race of Champions career.

Hirschman had to work through a stellar field, taking the lead from Ryan Preece of Berlin, Conn., of competitors to capture the victory.

“We made a late decision to come here, it takes a lot to be prepared and have the crew to help and put it all together, but I’m sure happy we did tonight,” stated Hirschman in victory lane. “I knew I didn’t have time to wait so I was pretty aggressive getting to the front and things just seemed work out with the lanes and how it went. It was a great night and a great tribute to Pops Leaty, I’m glad we were here to put it together and get to victory lane.”

Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., drew the pole and led the field to the green flanked by Eric Beers of Northampton, Pa., with Leaty moving to the top spot first the 24 circuits before being passed by Preece, who was making a rare Race of Champions appearance. Preece took over the top spot for a few laps before Hirschman worked his way by.

Preece mounted several challenges but had to settle for second.

Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., finished third with Leaty claiming fourth.

Daryl Lewis, Jr., of Ontario, N.Y., rounded out the top-five with his sixth top-five finish of the season.

Hirschman earned the “Top of the Board” Award with a fast lap of 18.687 seconds (96.324 mph).

Preece, Leaty and Lewis won the qualifying races.

Tyler Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., won the Race of Champions Four Cylinder Dash Series event. Catalano, who started second, took the early lead and never let it go to earn his first series victory.

Travis Montgomery of Ontario, N.Y., finished second. Austin Montgomery of Ontario, N.Y., finished third.

Jody London of Rochester, N.Y., had an accident with his primary car and drove a car that was loaned to him by another competitor to a fourth place finish. Allison Montgomery of Ontario, N.Y., rounded out the top-five.

Brian Hoffman of South Wales, N.Y., captured the Street Stock race over Rich Sharpe of Depew, N.Y., and Andy Cryan of Buffalo, N.Y., who finished third.

Feature Finish
Tribute to “Pops” Leaty (75-laps)
Spencer Speedway, Williamson, N.Y.
Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish Starting Position No. Name Laps

1 12 60 Matt Hirschman 75
2 8 6 Ryan Preece
3 10 07 Patrick Emerling
4 1 25 Mike Leaty
5 7 10 Daryl Lewis, Jr.
6 9 22 Chuck Hossfeld
7 6 12x Andy Jankowiak
8 2 45b Eric Beers
9 11 64 Amy Catalano
10 14 45c Timmy Catalano
11 16 17 Danny Knoll, Jr.
12 4 17c Roger Coss
13 16 1t Kevin Timmerman
14 18 59 Karl Hehr
15 17 39 Sal Accardi, Jr.
16 20 40 Alan Bookmiller
17 13 3 Daren Scherer
18 21 40r Jake Rought
19 19 1 Chris Risdale
20 5 54c Tommy Catalano 73, Ignition
21 3 54e Jack Ely 32, Engine

Time of Race: 50 minutes and 54 seconds Average Speed: 44.195 mph Margin of Victory: .307 seconds
Lead Changes: 2 among 3 drivers. (Mike Leaty – 1-24, Ryan Preece 25-27, Matt Hirschman 28-75 ) “Top of the Board” Award; Matt Hirschman (18.687 seconds @ 96.324 mph)
Paved Track Qualifying Race Winners; Chuck Hossfeld (6); Daren Scherer (1); Andy Jankowiak (1)
Jerico Performance “Jammin’ Gears Awards”; Matt Hirschman . (Advanced 11 positions in feature)
US Army Top Performer Award; Matt Hirschman (19.043 seconds @ 94.523 mph lap 35)
Jan “Pops” Leaty Award – Leader Lap 25 – Ryan Preece
$100 Bicknell Racing Products Certificate Award (Third Place) – Patrick Emerling
MyRacePass “Free Pass” Award – Alan Bookmiller

Feature Finish
Tribute to Pops Leaty (15-laps)
Spencer Speedway, Williamson, N.Y.
Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish Starting Position No. Name Laps

1 2 54 Tyler Catalano 15
2 4 04 Travis Montgomery
3 3 40 Austin Montgomery
4 5 89 Jody London
5 7 14 Allison Montgomery
6 9 12 Dave Milbrand
7 6 94 Maddie Virts
8 11 77 Ryan Brown
9 8 6 Tom Alloco
10 12 54r Jason Treasure
11 1 30 Bob Bogner
12 10 8 Dave Hines

Qualifying Race 1; Travis Montgomery – Qualifying Race 2; Tyler Catalano