Anniversary Race Of Champions Asphalt Mod Series At Spencer Friday For 100 Laps

Story By: RACE OF CHAMPIONS – WILLIAMSON, NY – On Friday, July 26, 2019 the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series will return to action at Spencer Speedway presented by Wilbert’s U-Pull It for a 100-lap event. It will be in honor of the speedway that has stood the test of time for 65-years, making it one of the most historic tracks in Modified racing history.

The track which opened in 1955 has been a staple in Modified racing history with all of Modified’s “big names” making the track a weekly home or sporadic visit throughout the years. Richie Evans, Jerry Cook, Jimmy Spencer, Tony Hirschman, Jan Leaty and more have made Spencer “home” throughout the years.

In more recent times, the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series has been the feature Modified division at the track. Chuck Hossfeld, Matt Hirschman, Patrick Emerling and Mike Leaty have all had outstanding performances at the paperclip oval.

Hossfeld is coming off a Race of Champions Asphalt Sportsman Modified win this past Saturday at New York International Raceway Park, home to Lancaster National Speedway.

“Spencer is challenging,” stated Hossfeld. “We’ve run a lot of 75 lap races there recently without tire changes. This presents a unique challenge for us. It will be different and tire strategy will definitely play a role in how things work out. It will be exciting for everyone that is guaranteed.”

Advance ticket sales will take place at 3 Wilbert’s locations in the area of the track. Wilbert’s U-Pull It in Williamson; Wilbert’s Premium Auto Parts in Webster and Wilbert’s Premium Auto Parts in Ontario. The advance tickets at Wilbert’s will be sold for $20 per ticket and will only be valid for the Friday, July 26 event.

The Race of Champions Super Stock Series will join the card with another $1,000-to-win event along with the Wilbert’s U-Pull It Four Cylinders.

The “Food Truck Frenzy” featuring local food trucks and tastes from the area will also make its return. The gates open at 5:00 pm at Spencer Speedway for fans, with qualifying to follow at 7:15 pm.