RPW Exclusive: Kevin Harvick Wins Again At Michigan; Enjoys Another Family Moment Afterwards

Column By: JESSY MILLER / RPW – BROOKLYN, MI – For the second time this season Stewart-Haas Racing driver Kevin Harvick has found himself in victory lane. The first win came at Loudon in New Hampshire, this next one at Michigan International Speedway.

As we all know, family is a big part of NASCAR so it wasn’t really a surprise, though still sweet, to see Keelan Harvick, the No.4 pilot’s son, running toward him on pit road after the race. The NBC announcers also mentioned that Keelan had said his dad couldn’t retire until he was old enough to race with him.

Speaking of Keelan, Harvick had him in the car with him for his polish victory lap, burnout and the ride to Victory Lane. In an interview Harvick said of the fans cheering louder for Keelan than Harvick, “Yeah they should cheer for him.” His son retrieved the checkered flag while Harvick answered questions and then let him help call out the sponsors.

The playoff standings are getting close, and currently Kyle Busch is in line for the regular season championship, with Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick behind him. The regular season champion will be announced before the playoffs begin.

Next week is the last regular season race and the top sixteen so far are: (courtesy of NASCAR.com)

  1. Kyle Busch (4 wins)
  2. Joey Logano (2 wins)
  3. Kevin Harvick (2 wins)
  4. Denny Hamlin (3 wins)
  5. Martin Truex Jr. (4 wins)
  6. Brad Keselowski (3 wins)
  7. Chase Elliott (2 wins)
  8. Kurt Busch (1 win)
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Alex Bowman (1 win)
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. William Byron
  13. Kyle Larson
  14. Eric Jones
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Clint Bowyer

Everyone enjoys a little night racing, especially The Bristol Night race. Make sure you tune in Saturday August 17th, at 7:30 pm.

Michigan Top-Ten: (courtesy of NASCAR.com)

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Ryan Preece
  8. William Byron
  9. Chase Elliott
  10. Alex Bowman