ISMA To Conclude 2019 Season With Annual Trip To Thompson’s World Series

Story By: CAMDEN PROUD / ISMA – THOMPSON, CT – The International Supermodified Association will conclude its 2019 season with the organization’s annual trip to the ‘World Series’ of Racing at the Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Connecticut this Saturday and Sunday.

Supermodified teams will first compete in Saturday’s heat races, before all attention turns to Sunday’s 50-lap finale which will decide the ISMA championship between defending champ Kyle Edwards and 2012 champion, Mike Lichty.

Lichty will be coming from Ontario and Edwards from Tennessee to partake in the final big block Super event of 2019. Only fifty four points separate them. The duo will be joined by regulars Mike Ordway Jr, Dan Bowes, Jon McKennedy, Ben Seitz, Mark Sammut, and Nick Capelli.

A pair of two car teams will be on hand, with Lane Racing fielding rides for multi-time winner Tim Jedrzejek and rookie sensation Jeff Battle. Chris Perley will also make his return to Thompson, while Michael Barnes will be piloting a second Vic Miller entry.

2019 Oswego Budweiser International Classic 200 champion Tyler Thompson, who finished fifth in the World Series one year ago, will be in the field searching for ISMA win number one. The 17-year old grabbed his first winged Super victory at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indy last month.

Joining Edwards from the midwest are two drivers that frequent the Midwest Supermodified Series; Rich Reid and AJ Leseicki. The New England contingent will be strong as well with additional support from Jamie Timmons, Bobby Chartier, and Dave Duggan.

Three other drivers that competed on Classic Weekend at Oswego; Danny Connors Jr. Dave McKnight, and Joey Payne, have also confirmed plans to race at Thompson. This weekend’s event will mark Payne’s first ISMA appearance in several years.

A full schedule of events as well as ticket pricing for Thompson’s World Series is available at Racing will start at 1:30pm on Saturday and 12:30pm on Sunday, which also features a 150-lap event for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.