Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series Opens Season In Two Short Months

Story By: CAMDEN PROUD / LIGHTHOUSE LANES SBS SERIES – OSWEGO, NY – Daylight savings time is back and that means that racing in the northeast is not very far away. Just two months from today, the Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series will open the 2018 Small Block Supermodified season at Evans Mills Speedway on Saturday, May 12.

Following an impressive showing of 22 cars in the inaugural ‘Fall Brawl 50’ for the series at Evans Mills last season, Camden Proud, media director and co-promoter of the tour, is anticipating something similar when the May 12 program gets the green flag.

“I had a nice chat with Vern LaFave from Evans Mills Speedway at the Motorsports Expo this weekend and we’re getting very excited about May 12,” Proud stated. “Last year, a lot of people felt like it was pure luck that we had that many cars show. I don’t believe that to be true. A lot of the guys who showed last September will be back again this May and we are looking forward to having another full field.”

Defending Oswego Speedway SBS champion Dave Cliff dominated last year’s Fall Brawl for his second career out of town checkered flag. For this year’s SBS lid lifter, which will open the season for the Oswego regulars two weeks before their Opener at the famed ‘Steel Palace,’ Cliff and many other familiar faces are expected to return.

“Series president Mike Bruce and I have been busy going around talking to drivers and teams about the upcoming show and we are optimistic about the car count we think we’ll see,” Proud added. “If everyone has their cars ready to go, which shouldn’t be an issue given Oswego’s season starting just one week after, I think we can have close to twenty cars again. Hopefully everything works in our favor.”

Drivers who were in the field last year at Evans Mills that intend to return to the track in exactly two months include Bruce with his No. 22 entry, Cliff, Brad Haynes, Jack Patrick, Dalton Doyle, Cameron Black, Steve Wood, Rob Pullen, Cameron Rowe, Jim Babcock, teammates Greg O’Connor and Tony Pisa, brothers Tim and Chris Proud, LaFave, and rookies Josh Sokolic and Tyler Henry.

New competitors expected to be in competition include Jesse Bearup, who stepped out of the driver’s seat to allow crewman Murray Walts to wheel the family owned ride last September. Additionally, Missile Motorsports teammates Anthony Losurdo and Dan Kapuscinski are also expected at the ‘Mills’ this season, although it is unclear whether the duo will appear in May, or wait until the Fall Brawl set for Sunday, September 16.

“Right now I’d say we are looking at probably at least a healthy fifteen cars for the May Opener which at Evans Mills is pretty much perfect,” Proud said. “There’s been a lot of great discussion about this show and we are ecstatic that the May date allows us to open up the SBS season here in Central New York. We’d like to thank Evans Mills Speedway and our dedicated teams, drivers, and fans for the continued support”