Emerling Grabs Lead On Restart To Earn RoC Modified Win At Jukasa Motor Speedway

Story By: RACE OF CHAMPIONS – NELLES CORNERS, ONT – For 91 laps Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., led “The Great Canadian 100” at the beautiful and spacious Jukasa Motor Speedway in Nelles Corners, Ontario. Leaty, who is the defending Series champion spun the tires on a lap 91 restart and Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., who had been pressuring Leaty for many laps was able to slip by and into the lead.

Emerling held off a charging Andy Jankowiak from Buffalo, N.Y. to win for the 14th time in Series history, which has him 5th on the all-time win list.

“This is pretty cool,” smiled Emerling in victory lane. “This track is just phenomenal. Very smooth and fast plus it was very competitive. We had a little bit of miss in the engine exiting the corners and that was challenging. I thought Mike (Leaty) and I would finish one, two, but then that restart happened and I made my move. I felt for him, but the hole was opened. Andy (Jankowiak) was right there. It was an exciting race and I’m proud of my team and being able to win here for the first time.”

Leaty led the field to the green with Amy Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., to his outside. Leaty jumped to the lead early on and survived several restarts and challengers throughout the early and mid-stages of the race.

The turning point of the race was a lap 91 restart when Leaty spun his tires and left the bottom open for Emerling to get by bringing others with him. Jankowiak pressured Emerling but couldn’t get by and finished second.

Daryl Lewis, Jr., finished third after starting 7th.

Leaty held on for fourth and Tommy Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., finished fifth.

Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y., continued his qualifying dominance posting a fast time of 17.451 seconds (@128.932 mph) around the spacious speedplant.

Hossfeld, Leaty and Emerling won the qualifying races.

At Lancaster (N.Y.) National Speedway, the Race of Champions Late Models ran their second race of the season. Eldon King, III of Delevan, N.Y., captured the win over Jerick Johnson of Mooresville, N.C., and Sam Fullone of North Collins, N.Y.

Bob Weber of Clarence, N.Y., and Dave Whittaker of Alden, N.Y., rounded out the top-five.

Terry Weldy of Clarence, N.Y., and King won the qualifying races.

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey with primary marketing partners Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, US Army, Upstate Automotive Group, Waddell Communications, Pilat Graphic Design, Jerico Performance, TDH Refrigeration, Sherwood Racing Wheels, PavedTrackDigest.com and Speed51.com. The 68th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2018 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at media@rocmodifiedseries.com

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com

Feature Finish

The Great Canadian 100 (100-laps)

Jukasa Motor Speedway, Nelles Corners, Ontario

Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish Starting Position No. Name Laps

  1. 4 07 Patrick Emerling 100
  2. 6 12x Andy Jankowiak
  3. 10 10 Daryl Lewis, Jr.
  4. 1 25 Mike Leaty
  5. 5 54c Tommy Catalano
  6. 19 40 Alan Bookmiller
  7. 16 17 Danny Knoll, Jr.
  8. 2 64 Amy Catalano
  9. 7 25 Calvin Carroll
  10. 13 10 Larry Jackson
  11. 9 3 Daren Scherer
  12. 15 25n Nikki Carroll
  13. 3 22 Chuck Hossfeld 98 Fuel
  14. 8 59 Karl Hehr 91 Over Heating
  15. 12 65 George Skora 87 Accident
  16. 14 45c Timmy Catalano 75 Rear End
  17. 18 99m Bill Mislin 44 Rear End
  18. 11 88 Scott Wylie 30 Over Heating
  19. 17 57x Brent McLean 15 Handling
  20. 20 20 Scott Hossfeld 4 Over Heating
  21. 21 99h Sherri Hogan 1 Engine

Time of Race: 1 hour 2 minutes and 44 seconds Average Speed: 59.771 mph

Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers (Mike Leaty 1-91, Patrick Emerling 91-100)

Speed51.com “Top of the Board” Award; Chuck Hossfeld (17.451 second @ 128.932 mph)

Paved Track Qualifying Race Winners; Chuck Hossfeld (4); Patrick Emerling (1); Mike Leaty (3)

Jerico Performance “Jammin’ Gears Awards”; Alan Bookmiller (Advanced 13 positions in feature)

US Army Top Performer Award; Tommy Catalano (17.691 seconds @ 127.183 mph lap 7)

Jan “Pops” Leaty Award – Leader Lap 25 – Mike Leaty

$100 Bicknell Racing Products Certificate Award (Third Place) – Daryl Lewis, Jr.

MyRacePass “Free Pass” Award – (No Eligible Driver, No “Free Pass” Given during race”)

Feature Finish

“Retro Night” 30

Lancaster National Speedway, Lancaster, N.Y.

Finishing Position, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

  1. Eldon King, III
  2. Jerick Johnson
  3. Sam Fullone
  4. Bob Weber
  5. Dave Whittaker
  6. Bob Minacapelli
  7. Frank Batista
  8. Terry Weldy
  9. Ron Richter
  10. Andy Cryan

Qualifying Race Winners; Terry Weldy, Eldon King, III