RPW Exclusive: Johnny Sauter’s Fourth Martinsville Win Sets Him Up For Run At The NASCAR Truck Title

Column By: JESSY MILLER / RPW – MARTINSVILLE, VA – As of October 27th, GMS driver Johnny Sauter is the first driver to ever win at Martinsville four times in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS).

Sauter was also able to win both of the Texas Roadhouse 200 stages, and captured his sixth win of the 2018 Truck Series season.

This win also boosts Sauter in the Championship four for Homestead.

Sauter won his first NCWTS Championship in 2016.  Since he started racing full-time in the Truck Series in 2009, he’s never finished a season worse than ninth in series points.  He was also Rookie of the Year in his 2009 season.

If the round of six were to end right now, joining Sauter to battle for the Championship would be Noah Gragson (+24), Brett Moffitt (+15), and Grant Enfinger (+2), but we have a long way to go.  Justin Haley (-2) and Matt Crafton (-10) are both under the cut line but it’s far from over.  Never say never though.  Anything could happen before Homestead!