Hirschman Wins Richie Evans 100 At New Smyrna; Hossfeld Earns Tour-Type Mod Title

Story By: KYLE SOUZA / NASCAR – NEW SMYRNA, FL – The sweet taste of victory for a second time.

Chuck Hossfeld clinched his second career Tour Type Modified championship on Friday night at New Smyrna Speedway. He finished seventh in the Richie Evans Memorial 100, but it was enough to clinch the week title over Matt Hirschman by just a mere few spots on the track.

Hirschman, who didn’t finish the Modified race on Tuesday night, was able to complete a victorious final three nights by taking the checkered flag in the Evans 100 in dominating fashion. Hirschman also won the John Blewett III Memorial on Wednesday.

“We had chances to win races, and we didn’t win, but we were so close,” Hossfeld said. “I had to hold off Doug Coby there at the end to win the championship, and I’m proud of that. The rules are the rules. I know we didn’t win (a race), but championships are championships, and I will take them however I can get them.”

Hossfeld’s prior championship trophy at New Smyrna came in 2012. He credits New Smyrna’s Ricky Brooks, who leads technical inspection, for helping to turn the Modified division into a must-visit for drivers. For Hossfeld, winning it the second time is even more special.

“We won it before Ricky, but I have to give him a lot of credit for everything he organized down here, you know you are racing legal cars,” Hossfeld said. “The series has come a long way. There isn’t a scratch on this car. I’m proud of my guys and proud of what we accomplished this week.”

Jimmy Blewett was second in the 100-lap feature and Anthony Nocella third. The first 66 laps of the race went under the green flag before a controlled caution flag slowed the action. Hirschman pitted for tires, along with the other leaders, and he pulled away in the final laps.

Sammy Smith celebrated twice in one night on Friday in the Pro Late Models. Smith pounced on his opportunity to take the race lead on lap 84, passing Loris Hezemans for the top spot. It was the second win of the week for Smith, who also celebrated taking the overall points championship in the Pro Late Model class.

“I did,” the young Smith said when asked if he thought a title was possible at the beginning of the week. “I thought it was going to be a possibility, because I know these guys have the best cars.”

Jackson Boone, who led from the drop of the green, was passed by Smith late had to settle for second. Hezemans finished third.

Racing during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing concludes on Saturday night with the Super Late Model finale, the Orange Blossom 100, where their champion will be crowned.

RESULTS: World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Night 8:

TOUR TYPE MODIFIEDS: 1. Matt Hirschman; 2. Jimmy Blewett; 3. Anthony Nocella; 4. Tommy Catalano; 5. Patrick Emerling; 6. David Sapienza; 7. Chuck Hossfeld; 8. Calvin Carroll; 9. Doug Coby; 10. Jimmy Zacharias; 11. Andy Jankowiak; 12. Tyler Rypkema; 13. Dillon Steuer; 14. Jeremy Gerstner; 15. Bobby Measmer Jr.; 16. Timmy Solomito; 17. Nikki Carroll; 18. Amy Catalano; 19. Al Amarino; 20. Tom Tonn

PRO LATE MODELS: 1. Sammy Smith; 2. Jackson Boone; 3. Loris Hezemans; 4. Todd Stone; 5. Jamie Skinner; 6. Nicholas Naugle; 7. Austin MacDonald; 8. Jeremy Miller; 9. Daniel Dye; 10. Blaise Rutherford; 11. Cassius Clark; 12. Chance Jewels; 13. Sam Johnson; 14. Brandon Oakley; 15. Dalton Smith; 16. Steve Stevenson; 17. Dawson Fletcher; 18. Mason Keller; 19. Ware Carson Reed