Arby’s Named Title Sponsor Of NHRA National Event In Atlanta

Story By: SCOTT SMITH / NHRA – GLENDORA, CA – NHRA officials announced today that Arby’s will be the title sponsor of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series race at Atlanta Dragway. The 39th annual Arby’s NHRA Southern Nationals takes place May 3-5 at the track just outside of Atlanta.

Founded in 1964, Arby’s is headquartered in Atlanta and is the second-largest sandwich brand in the world. Arby’s has more than 3,300 restaurants in seven countries and is part of Inspire Brands, a multi-brand company that includes a portfolio of more than 8,300 restaurants.

“We look forward to being involved with the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series,” said Jim Taylor, Arby’s Chief Marketing Officer. “The power and the intense racing action is the best in the country, and we are proud to have this race as well as its passionate fanbase here in our backyard.”

The annual spring race at Georgia’s House of Speed is one of the long-established events on the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series circuit and the Arby’s NHRA Southern Nationals serves as the seventh of 24 races during the 2019 season. The race has provided incredible moments and amazing thrills for nearly four decades. Leah Pritchett (Top Fuel), Courtney Force (Funny Car) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) are the defending winners of this race which will be televised on FOX Sports 1.

“We are extremely excited to have Arby’s as our title sponsor for our annual event at Atlanta Dragway,” said NHRA vice president and chief development officer Brad Gerber. “It’s tremendously pleasing to partner with a large Atlanta-based company like Arby’s for this longstanding race, which has built a huge fan following in the area over the past 30-plus years.”

All the top stars in Top Fuel, Funny Car and Pro Stock Motorcycle will again battle for the coveted Wally trophy at the Arby’s NHRA Southern Nationals. Mello Yello Drag Racing Series qualifying will feature two rounds on Friday, May 3 and the final two rounds of qualifying on Saturday, May 4. Final eliminations are scheduled for 11 a.m. on Sunday, May 5.