Chuck Hossfeld Takes Victory On Autograph Night At Lancaster Speedway

Story By: DAVE BUCHANAN / LANCASTER SPEEDWAY – LANCASTER, NY – Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y. captured the 25-lap Race of Champions Sportsman Modified Series event as part of Autograph Night at Lancaster Speedway @ New York International Raceway Park on Saturday.

In supporting action, Terry Weldy of Clarence, N.Y. won the Race of Champions Late Model feature. Rich Sharpe of Lancaster captured the Street Stock feature. Dave Brunka of Cheektowaga, N.Y. won the 4-Cylinder feature. Dave Wollaber of Ransomville, N.Y. won the NYPA TQ Midget feature.

The front row of the RoC Sportsman Series feature included a pair of drivers from Eden, N.Y. as George Skora III and Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr. led the field of 23 cars to the opening green flag. Skora grabbed the lead while Chuck Hossfeld came from the third starting spot to move into second place. Two laps later Hossfeld got by Skora to take the lead.

The race was slowed by a trio of cautions during laps 7-8. The front of the field saw a major shakeup with the second of these incidents. Skora slowed up on the outside line and eventually hooked nerf bars with Fiebelkorn. Daryl Lewis, Jr. received damage in the chaos and collided with Erick Ruffell. Tony Carbone was also involved.

This moved Shawn Nye into second place followed by Joe Evans, John Barber, Eddie Hawkins and Andy Jankowiak.

The rest of the race ran off caution free as Hossfeld and Nye distanced themselves from the rest of the field. Hossfeld held off Nye in the closing laps to secure the victory. Nye finished second followed by Barber, Hawkins and Jimmy Zacharias.

Terry Weldy captured his first career Late Model feature win on Saturday at Lancaster in the RoC Late Model Series 30-lap feature. Weldy took over the lead following a lap 2 restart when he drove under race leader Sam Fullone. Fullone has slid up on the restart to possibly block Bobby Weber, Weldy used that as an opportunity to get by Fullone.

Weldy and Weber dominated the majority of the race as they opened up a sizable advantage over the field. The pair of late race cautions shook things up. Dave Whittaker spun out on lap 21 to bring out the first caution after a 19-lap run. Weber and Eldon King III tangled in turn two, two laps later.

This set up the final run to the finish for Weldy, who drove away for the final seven laps to score his first career Late Model win. Frank Batista, Jr. finished in second place. Fullone, Weber and King rounded out the top five.

Rich Sharpe led all 25 laps of the Street Stock feature to capture his first win of the season. The first 15 laps of the race went caution free. Ken Maltby and Nik Welshans were chasing Sharpe through lapped traffic when Maltby was slowed by a lapped car. Welshans ran into the back of Maltby to spin him out while Mike Scott spun to avoid them.

This moved Brian Hoffman to second place followed by Mark Hoch, Mike Dalfonso and Tommy Wentland. Hoffman challenged Sharpe for the lead when the race went back to green, but Sharpe pulled away in the closing laps. Sharpe picked up the win followed by Mark Hoch, Wentland, Chris Powers and Dalfonso.

Dave Brunka and Kenny Hejna battled for the win in the 4-Cylinder feature. Hejna attempted to get a run alongside Brunka late in the race, but lapped traffic made it difficult for him to make a pass. Brunka held on to score the victory over Hejna, Dan Dressel, Charles Palmer and Chris Pennell.

Dave Wollaber passed Bobby Holmes with five laps to go to win the 20-lap NYPA TQ Midget feature. Holmes passed polesitter Chad Haywood for the lead on lap 6. Wollaber moved into second place five laps later. He then got a run to the inside of Holmes down the back straightaway to take the lead.

The engine expired in Holmes’s car shortly after this to set up a battle between Wollaber and Kyle Hutchinson to decide the race. Hutchinson challenged Wollaber all the way to the finish, but could not overtake him. Wollaber scored the victory followed by Hutchinson, Andy Jankowiak, Erik Musto and Andy Nye.

Stock car racing continues at Lancaster Speedway @ NYIRP on Saturday, August 17 with the 30th annual Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial Modified 110 for the Race of Champions Modified Series.



Heat Winners: Chuck Hossfeld, George Skora III, Shawn Nye

Feature: CHUCK HOSSFELD, Shawn Nye, John Barber, Eddie Hawkins, Jimmy Zacharias, Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr., Neal Dietz, Jr., Andy Jankowiak, Andy Lewis, Joe Evans, Bobby Weber, Mark Pennell, Jeff Szafraniec, Tim Gullo, Leo Becker, Cassie Logsdon, Bob Wilson, Jr., Jayme Thompson, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Tony Carbone, Erick Ruffell, George Skora III, Bobby Hanel DNS: Dave Kozlowski


Heat Winners: Terry Weldy, Eldon King III

Feature: TERRY WELDY, Frank Batista, Jr., Sam Fullone, Bobby Weber, Eldon King III, Dave Whittaker, Ron Richter, Dave Heitzhaus, Dave Rigan, Joe Brainard


Heat Winners: Nik Welshans, Ken Maltby, Rich Sharpe

Feature: RICH SHARPE, Mark Hoch, Tommy Wentland, Chris Powers, Mike Dalfonso, Lou Carbone, Max Northem, Garrett Cleversley, Tim Garlock, Mike Scott, Mike Rogers, Ken Maltby, Nik Welshans, Jerry Kosmowski, Jim Dauer, Michele Russo, Wes LeBar, Brian Hoffman, Scott Chaplin, Scott Soos, Frank Prell, Glenn Absolom


Heat Winners: Dave Brunka, Chris Pennell

Feature: DAVE BRUNKA, Kenny Hejna, Dan Dressel, Charles Palmer, Jr., Chris Pennell, Andy Danielwicz, Josh Schosek, Dave Evans, Kyle Casper, Casey Pew, Mason Offhaus, Justin Vallone, Braden Suffoletta, Mike Long DNS: Tommy Hughes, Anton Anderson


Heat Winners: AJ Hessler, Bobby Holmes

Feature: DAVE WOLLABER, Kyle Hutchinson, Andy Jankowiak, Erik Musto, Andy Nye, Brandon Zavarella, AJ Hessler, Vinny Christiano, Jr., Vinny Christiano III, Ted Jones, Kevin Wilson, Chad Haywood, Tony Patrea, Arik McGruder, Cameron Ruggiero, Jim Musto, Tim Ruggiero, Bobby Holmes, Ryan Lagoda DNS: Mark Schulz