EMPA Announces Tyler Thompson As Recipient Of John Blewett III Young Guns Award

Story By: DAN KAPUSCINSKI / JASON SIMMONS RACING – OSWEGO, NY – Tyler Thompson has officially been declared the recipient of this year’s John Blewett III Young Guns Award by the Eastern Motorsports Press Association.

At just 17 years of age, Thompson took the Supermodified world by storm in 2019 becoming Oswego Speedway’s youngest Supermodified feature winner in the month of August. Just weeks later, the Fulton, NY native caught the eye of the entire motorsports community by dominating Oswego’s 63rd annual International Classic 200, leading 189 of 200 laps to claim more than $20,000 in cash and contingencies.

Oswego’s International Classic, highly regarded in the world of motorsports, is the nation’s richest and most prestigious Supermodifed event.

Thompson will receive this prestigious honor as part of the EMPA’s 2020 Hall of Fame ceremony and awards dinner during the 47th annual EMPA Convention, taking place on Saturday, January 11 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in King of Prussia, PA.

The John Blewett III Young Guns Award, presented by New England Race Fuels, will be part of a full evening of awards which include the induction of Dave Blaney, Ken Schrader, Sammy Beavers and Sam Posey into the EMPA Hall of Fame.

Other award recipients include National Driver of the Year, Christopher Bell, Northeast Drivers of the year, Mat Williamson and Matt Hirschman, Newsmaker of the Year, Roger Penske, and Promoter of the Year, Brett Deyo.

Immediately following Thompson’s award presentation, he and his Jason Simmons Racing team will travel to Tulsa, OK for a first ever shot at the Chili Bowl Nationals, driving for Seymour Racing.