Champions & Individuals Honored At Race Of Champions 2019 Season-Ending Celebration

Story By: RACE OF CHAMPIONS – MOUNT MORRIS, NY – The Race of Champions Series family of participants, officials and fans gathered at the Genesee River Restaurant & Reception Center in Mount Morris (NY) for an evening of awards, accolades and celebration to conclude the 2019 championship season, where over 50 different point fund and special awards were presented.

Honored as series champions were Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, NY (Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series); Tom Barron of Ontario, NY (Race of Champions Super Stock); Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, NY (Race of Champions Sportsman Modified); Terry Weldy of Clarence, NY (Race of Champions Late Models); Brad Rouse of St. Catharines, Ont., CAN (Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified); Andy Jankowiak of Tonawanda, NY (Race of Champions TQ Midget Series) and Jacob Gustafson of Webster, NY (Race of Champions Four Cylinder Dash Series). Andy Cocilova (Spencer Speedway Wilbert’s U-Pull It Super Six Series); Allison Montgomery (Spencer Speedway Wilbert’s U-Pull It Four Cylinder Series); Rich Sharpe (Lancaster Street Stock) and David Brunka (Lancaster Four Cylinder) were recognized for their efforts.

“Our team had a great season,” stated Emerling, accepting his fourth Race of Champions Modified Series championship. “I have a great team. Jan (Leaty) provides awesome leadership and everyone just comes together and performs. This is a great Series. I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished and we are going to enjoy it.”

Several others received special recognition, in addition to recognizing the accomplishments of all, for an entire season of passion and dedication.

Kevin Miller of Rochester, NY, and Austin Beers of Northampton, Pa, were honored for their performances and officially named the Speedway Illustrated Race of Champions Rookies-of-the-Year in the Modified division. Travis Montgomery of Ontario, NY, earned rookie honors in the Super Stock division

Point fund contributions come from Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, the US Army, Colton RV, Presque Isle Downs and Casino, Wilbert’s U-Pull It and TDH Refrigeration. representatives Duane and Evan Canfield of Binghamton, NY presented the Most Popular Driver Awards. Andy Jankowiak (Modifieds); Mancuso (Super Stocks); Sam Fullone of North Collins, NY (Late Models); Dave Koslowski of Williamsville, NY (Asphalt Sportsman); James Michael Friesen (Dirt 602 Sportsman); Bobby Holmes (TQ Midget Series) and Allison Montgomery of Ontario, NY (Four Cylinder Dash Series) were all named most popular in their respective division.

For anyone receiving a point fund award, if you opted not to attend the awards banquet, your point fund award will be presented at the first scheduled event for your division in 2020.

Western New York racing announcer Rick Mooney of Rochester, NY, performed as the Master of Ceremonies.