Race Of Champions Modified Series To Run iRacing Events Beginning This Thursday With 125 Lap Event At Concord Motorsports Park

Story By: RACE OF CHAMPIONS – ELMA, NY – As the current situation continues to evolve and as announced by the United States Federal Government which has extended the “Stay at Home” act until April 30, 2020, Race of Champions management has moved to put together an entertaining package for participants and fans bringing more “eSports” forward during a challenging time for everyone throughout the world.

The first race for the Race of Champions Invitational Series will take place Thursday, April 2, 2020 at Concord Motorsport Park with a 125-lap feature on the iRacing (www.iracing.com) platform. The full format will be announced Thursday morning. The response has been positive with over 20 entries from racers of all types, including defending Race of Champions Modified Series champion Patrick Emerling, in the initial social media outreach. Racers are still eligible and able to enter.

“This is not unique during this challenging time, we know that, but my son (Zachary) who is an iRacer himself and I discussed it. We both agreed that this would be positive for fans and racers throughout our region,” offered Joe Skotnicki, Race of Champions. “It’s a time to remain positive and let everyone know that we will get through together, offer a form of entertainment, some levity and give everyone a bit of time away from the obvious. We are all racers, we all want to be out doing what we do best and this is a good alternative for now to help with the restrictions that are in place.”

Defending Modified Series champion, Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., is looking forward to having some fun on Thursday night.

“This is a good way to have some fun,” stated Emerling. “We are looking forward to it. Other Series and events have taken place and this one is great because it gives many of us who are equipped for this to race. I’m looking forward to it and a fun night of competition.”

Drivers are still eligible to enter and to do so must e-mail info@rocmodifiedseries.com.

The Race of Champions partnered with Sim Racers for Mental Health for a series of events during the late Fall 2019, into the Winter ending in January 2020. Tommy Kreymborg, a young racer from North Sea, N.Y., was crowned the Series champion. He is an early entry for Thursday night’s race.

Where: I-Racing, Concord Motorsport Park from your personal location.

When: Thursday, April 2, 2020 – Qualifying @ 7:30pm, feature to follow qualifying

Directions: www.iracing.com / www.speed51.com.

What: Race of Champions “RoC” Invitational 125-lap feature race.

More Information: www.rocmodifiedseries.com

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey with primary marketing partners Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Upstate Automotive Group, Waddell Communications, Pilat Graphic Design, TDH Refrigeration, Sherwood Racing Wheels, DirtTrackDigest.com; MyRacePass and Speed51.com. The 70th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2020 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at media@rocmodifiedseries.com

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com

Pre Entry List for Thursday, April 2nd, 2020 (entries as of 3/30/2020 @ 6:00pm)

Concord Motorsport Park

Race of Champions “RoC Invitatioinal” 125;

1.) 05 – Matt Lees 2.) 06 – William Kruszka 3.) 07 – Patrick Emerling 4.) 09 – Charles Buchanan 5.) 8 – Tommy Kreymborg 6.) 10 – Samantha Osborn 7.) 15 – Michael Timmerman 8.) 17 – Derek Hopkinson 9.) 18 – Anthony Chrobak 10.) 39 – Riley O’Keefe 11.) 40 – Tommy Rought 12.) 45 – Austin Beers 13.) 54 – Jack Ely 14.) 63 – Andy Cryan 15.) 69 – Tyler Truex16.) 71 – Garrett Zacharias 17.) 72 – AJ Potrzebowski 18.) 73 – Andy Jankowiak (Andy Ticco) 19.) 78 – Briggs Danner 20.) 79 – Tyler Bowman 21.) 82 – Mike Christopher, Jr. 22.) 88 – Tucker Wingo 23.) 98 – Mark A. Annis, Jr.