Brian Chapin Wins NHSTRA Modified Feature At Monadnock Speedway

Story By: MONADNOCK SPEEDWAY – WINCHESTER, NH – This past Saturday, Monadnock Speedway dodged the rain and was able to get all feature races completed. Winners included Brian Chapin of Palmer, Ma (NHSTRA Modifieds), Aaron Fellows of Croydon, NH (Late Model Sportsman), Chase Curtis of Rutland, Ma (Street Stocks), Gordon Farnum of Fitzwilliam, NH (Mini Stocks) and David Aiken pf Claremont, NH (Pure Stocks).

The first feature of the night was the Pure Stocks as David Aiken set the pace. Aiken quickly took the lead followed by Sammy Silva and Damon Roy. On lap five, Chris Davis moved into third setting his sights on Silva for second. On lap ten, a caution flew for Matt Winter. On lap ten, Davis took over second before another caution flew on lap eleven for contact between Roy and Nick Houle. On lap fourteen, Davis took the outside groove to pass Aiken for the lead. Few laps later, Roy made it back through the pack to take over third from Silva. One lap to go, Davis suffered mechanical problems and pulled into the pits as Aiken became the new leader. At the end, it was Aiken followed by Roy, Silva, Jason LeRay and Jimmy Zellman for the top five.

Nathan Wenzel led the Mini Stocks out for their feature event. At the green, Gordon Farnum made an early challenge for the lead, but Wenzel held strong. On lap three, a caution came out as Rich Fournier made contact with Jake Puchalski. On the restart, Wenzel continued to lead as Tim Leblanc moved into third. On lap ten, Farnum took over the lead on the inside of Wenzel. Five laps to go, Farnum gained a straight away lead as Leblanc pushed Wenzel up the track to take over second as Kevin Clayton followed for third. At the checkers, it was Farnum, Leblanc, Clayton, Wenzel and Shelby Avery for the top five.

The Street Stocks rolled onto the track as Tim Wenzel led the field to the green. On lap three, Wenzel lost the lead to Chase Curtis who took the outside groove. Jaret Curtis ran in third. On lap ten, Kenny Thompson was blacked flag for leaking fluid. On lap thirteen, the caution flew as Randy Rameau headed to the pits. On the restart, Jaret took over second and put the pressure on his brother Chase. Lap eighteen, Jaret Curtis attempted the inside of Chase Curtis, but he was denied. The two top ran hard as Wenzel sat back in third. On the final lap, Chase Curtis held on for the win followed by Jaret Curtis, Wenzel, Hillary Renaud and Ed Lofland for the top five.

Justin Littlewood led the Late Model Sportsman to the start as Robert Hagar sat on the outside. Aaron Fellows wasted no time to move into second and pressured Littlewood early for the lead. Lap five, Fellows took the lead. On lap ten, Fellows gained a good lead from the rest of the field as Littlewood and Hagar followed in the top three. Five laps to go, Hayden Scott started the challenge with Hagar for third. Few laps later, Scott went under Hagar and took over the third spot. At the checkers, it was Fellows for his second victory of the season followed by Littlewood, Scott, Hagar and Willie Kuhn for the top five.

Final feature of the night was the NHSTRA Modifieds as Cameron Houle led the field to the green. Brian Chapin, on the outside, quickly took over the lead as Ben Bryne moved into second. Lap ten, Matt Kimball attempted to pass Houle for third but was shut down. Two laps later, Kimball dive bombed to the inside of Houle for third. Lap fourteen the first caution came out for Trevor Bleau. On the restart, Chapin continued to lead as Todd Patnode started making his way to challenge the top five. On lap fifteen, Kimball moved to second on the inside of Byrne. Kimball and Byrne continued to battle for the second spot as Byrne took it back with half way to go. Lap thirty four, the caution came out for Jason Houle. On the restart, Bleau moved into third as Chapin continued to lead. On lap thirty seven, caution was out again for Cameron Houle. On lap forty, the top three of Chapin, Byrne and Bleau ran tight as Rob Richardi ran in fourth. On lap forty two, Richardi spun setting the field up for a single file restart. On the restart, Chapin led the way to the checkered flag after a few more cautions to take the victory followed by Byrne, Brian Robie, Bleau and Solomon Brow.

This Sunday (July 5), Monadnock Speedway will host a Tri Track Modified Series special event. The program will start at 2PM and will also include a special visit from the Pro Truck Series along with the weekly series with the exception of the Pure Stocks. Advanced tickets are available for purchase on the speedway’s website at
NASCAR Weekly Stock Car Racing & MudBogs!

Pure Stock Finish – Erin Aiken, Damon Roy, Sammy Silva, Jason LeRay, Jimmy Zellman, Carter Chamberlain, JD Stockwell, Chris Davis, Reagan Buffum, Matt Winter, Nick Houle, Brandon Lavoie, Cory Lofland, Ryan Lawliss, Mike Douglas

Mini Stocks Finish – Gordon Farnum, Tim Leblanc, Kevin Clayton, Nathan Wenzel, Shelby Avery, Kevin McKnight, Jake Puchalski, Rich Fournier

Street Stocks Finish- Chase Curtis, Jaret Curtis, Tim Wenzel, Hillary Renaud, Ed Lofland, Mike Radzuik, Paul Barnard, Bryan Grainger, Kenny Thompson, Nathaniel Nunez, Randy Rameau, Kyle Gero, Chris Buffone

Late Model Sportsman Finish- Aaron Fellows, Justin Littlewood, Hayden Scott, Robert Hagar, Willie Kuhn, Camdyn Curtis, Cole Littlewood, Scott Beck

NHSTRA Modified Finish – Brian Chapin, Ben Byrne, Brian Robie, Trevor Bleau, Solomon Brow, Todd Patnode, Keith Carzello, JT Cloutier, Cameron Houle, Kim Rivet, Rob Richardi, Andy Major, Scott MacMichael, Zach Leone, Cory Plummer, Jason Houle, Matt Kimball, Kevin Pittsinger, Brad Zahensky, Eric Leclair, Scott Bourn